• Peabody - 202-698-3277

  • Watkins - 202-698-3355

  • Stuart Hobson - 202-671-6010

Watkins Staff

Watkins Principal

Elena Bell

Elena J. Bell is a well-respected leader in education, who is acknowledged for her strong advocacy and strategic leadership in building collaborative school communities that enhance student academic and life achievement.

Ms. Bell is the Principal for Peabody and Watkins Elementary Schools at the Capitol Hill Cluster School. She brings to this position over 10 years of accomplishments in driving advancements in instructional practices and student outcomes, as both a principal and teacher.

 

 

 

Watkins Assistant Principal-Math

Nikeysha Jackson

Nikeysha Jackson serves the Watkins community in the role of Assistant Principal ofMathematics. Ms. Jackson holds a Bachelor’s degree from Georgia Institute of Technology anda Master’s degree from George Mason University. After working for many years in the HR field,she made the decision to become an educator because of her passion for positively impactingthe lives of children. She joined Teach for America and moved to Washington, DC to serve thestudents and families in the DC metropolitan area.Prior to serving in the District, Ms. Jackson served in various capacities in Prince George’sCounty Public Schools including as a 2nd Grade teacher, Kindergarten teacher, and a MathCoach. She completed a Principal Residency with New Leaders, a nationally-recognizedprogram that develops talented educators into transformational school leaders. During her timeas a Resident Principal, Ms. Jackson was instrumental in significantly increasing studentachievement, building and sustaining partnerships with families, and developing staff capacity.Her educational philosophy is grounded in the following principles: all students have a right tohigh-quality education; all students can achieve; students’ needs differ; students need to beactive participants in learning; families matter; and every student needs a champion.In addition to serving children, Ms. Jackson loves spending time with her daughter, swimming,volunteering, and traveling the world.

Watkins Assistant Principal-Reading

Ashley Croft

Ashley Croft joined the Watkins team in 2016 after serving as an assistant principal and middle school teacher with Metro Nashville Public Schools. As a young child growing up in Memphis, she revered her teachers (including her father) and knew she wanted to join their ranks one day. Her younger sister had the privilege of being her first student, and sat through many “demo lessons” when they were children.

Ms. Croft ultimately went on to teach math, literacy, science, and social studies to 5th and 6th graders. While in the classroom, she mentored numerous new teachers, was recognized by the Tennessee Education Association as the Distinguished New Educator of the Year for middle schools, and led the team that was awarded the Outstanding Team Award by the Tennessee Association of Middle Schools.

Above all, Ms. Croft is proudest of her students, their growth, and the impact they are already having on their world. She believes strongly in the power of community and finds great joy in partnering with families and community members to ensure the best possible experiences for our children.

Ms. Croft holds a Bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education and Human & Organizational Development from Vanderbilt University and a Master’s of Education in School Leadership from the Harvard Graduate School of Education. When she’s not at work, you can find her running, listening to live music, or playing with Jasper, her one-eyed cat.

Our Staff and Teachers

Coreil Dickinson

Coreil Dickinson

Dean of Students

Coreil.Dickinson@dc.gov

Terrie Carraway

Terrie Carraway

Administrative Aide

Shelia Roy

Shelia Roy

Assistant for Strategy and Logistics

Shelia.Roy@dc.gov

Beulah Brock

Beulah Brock

Business Manager

Beulah.Brock@dc.gov

First Grade Team

Elizabeth O’Donnell

Elizabeth O’Donnell

Math/Science - Grade 1

Elizabeth.ODonnell@dc.gov

Jill Stewart

Jill Stewart

Math/Science - Grade 1

Jill.Stewart@dc.gov

Kelly Wecker

Kelly Wecker

Literacy/Social Studies - Grade 1

kelly.wecker@dc.gov

Sunmer Davis

Sunmer Davis

Literacy/Social Studies - Grade 1

Sunmer.Davis@dc.gov

Second Grade Team

Stephanie Coleman

Stephanie Coleman

Literacy/Social Science - Grade 2

Stephanie.Coleman@dc.gov

Alice Hill-Dyal

Alice Hill-Dyal

Math/Science - Grade 2

Rachel Nover

Rachel Nover

Literacy/ Social Science - Grade 2

Rachel.Nover@dc.gov

Sashaum Deprez

Sashaum Deprez

Math/Science - Grade 2

Sashaum.Deprez@dc.gov

Third Grade Team

Katherine Moxley

Katherine Moxley

Math/Science - Grade 3

Katherine.Moxley@dc.gov

Tatiana Sheppard

Tatiana Sheppard

Literarcy/Social Science - Grade 3

Tatiana.Sheppard@dc.gov

Todd O’Neil

Todd O’Neil

Math/Science - Grade 3

Todd.ONeil@dc.gov

Brittany Parler

Brittany Parler

Literacy/Social Science - Grade 3

Brittany.Parler@dc.gov

Fourth Grade Team

Christina Jenkins

Christina Jenkins

Math/Science - Grade 4

Christina.Jenkins@dc.gov

Layth Elmusa

Layth Elmusa

Literacy/Social Science - Grade 4

Layth.Elmusa@dc.gov

Alyse Phoenix

Alyse Phoenix

Math/Science - Grade 4

Alyse.Phoenix@dc.gov

Monique Sullivan

Monique Sullivan

Literacy/Social Science - Grade 4

Monique.Sullivan@dc.gov

Fifth Grade Team

Rashida Hightower

Rashida Hightower

Literacy/Social Science - Grade 5

Rashida.green@dc.gov

Brendan Smullen

Brendan Smullen

Math/Science - Grade 5

Brendan.smullen@dc.gov

Darius Krider

Darius Krider

Literacy/Social Studies - Grade 5

Darius.Krider@dc.gov

Camisha Davis

Camisha Davis

Math/Science - Grade 5

Camisha.Davis@dc.gov

Specials Team

Asa Davis

Asa Davis

Physical Education

Asa.Davis@dc.gov

Kimberlynn Jurkowski

Kimberlynn Jurkowski

Librarian

Kimberlynn.Jurkowski@dc.gov

Hillel Nagbe

Hillel Nagbe

Music

Hillel.Nagbe@dc.gov

Jose Lopez

Jose Lopez

Spanish

Jose.lopez@dc.gov

Ayannie Peake

Ayannie Peake

Art

ayannie.peake@dc.gov